Time Is A Slut

You know what sucks?

Time.

Looking back a year ago from today I was preparing myself for the trip of a lifetime. I was in love and about to board a plane and fly half way across the world for a guy that I was pretty sure was the one (cue gagging noise from audience). Now don’t get me wrong, I do not regret going in the least, but it is intriguing how things change. How people change.

1000309_10151627260691225_1235233356_n

Growing up I was always the hopeless romantic. Prince Charming? Prince Eric from Swan Princess? Dimitri from Anastasia? Leonardo DeCaprio? Uh, hell yes, I was all over that. I probably drove my parents ludicrous with all of my princess themed birthday parties.
But, here’s the thing… We eventually wake up. We realize that having a one true love is bullshit. The first person to call us pretty is not going to be the one we live happily ever after with, and thank God for that. If I were to have married my first boyfriend I would have turned myself back into a swan just so I could fly away from him forever.
What I am saying is, we have all different types of relationships in our lifetime. Some teach what we want and what we don’t want in our significant other. Others open us up to what love could be like, but maybe the timing just wasn’t right. Some even pick us up onto our feet and tell us to get going, because there is more out there for me, that I deserve better for myself. All of those types of love shape us into the people that we are (or going to be). So even though that cheating no good lying scumbag ex didn’t marry you and ride off into the sunset on a white steed, he still taught you a very valuable lesson. And thirty years from now you’ll remember him and his cheating no good lying ways and you will deter from those types of men. Lesson learned. Check. Next, please.
So going back onto the topic of time.

It goes.

Simple as that. I blinked and my trip was over. I blinked and forgot what his voice sounded like. I blinked and the winter turned to summer. I blinked again and I am 21 about to start my life. With each blink though, I become more and more of the person I am supposed to be. If you told me four years ago when I was dating my ex (cheating no good lying scumbag boyfriend) that I would eventually date an Australian and move across the world for him, I would have laughed in your face, gave you a quarter and told you to call the mental institution because you need some intense help. But here I am, 7 months back in the good ole US of A and I am about to apply to become a flight attendant, something I never would have dreamed of doing if I would not have taken that leap and flew to Australia to begin with (for a guy!!!). And yes, people called me crazy and stupid and insane, but why wouldn’t you take an opportunity like that? I’m happy I didn’t listen to them.
Maybe time is a good thing. You learn from last year, from yesterday, from an hour ago, and you become stronger, more focused and driven. Then again, maybe time is a bad thing. Makes you older, less innocent to the world around us, harder. Either way the clock is going to keep on ticking and you are going to either make a mistake or, who knows, you might even cure cancer, but time will always keep moving on without us, whether we like it or not.

As my idol John Green would put it, “What a slut time is, she screws everybody.”

 

Until next time!

lostinflight

2 thoughts on “Time Is A Slut

Leave a Reply

